Mindfulness in Secondary Schools

Hello dear friends in mindfulness,

I have been teaching high school French for 26 years and this year, I had the incredible fortune of being able to take my personal mindful practice into the classroom. My high school accepted my proposal to offer a one-semester, one-credit elective course in Mindfulness. We are a small school of 800 and I had three sections of Mindfulness this year. Next year, there will again be three sections of Mindfulness and, by student request, a second semester of the course (Mindfulness 2). I would love to connect to other high school educators who are teaching mindfulness as a semester course or with anyone who is interested in sharing ideas.
Thanks in advance!

Warmly,
Michelle Martin
(Indianapolis, IN)

2 Likes

Hi Michelle,

My name is Janet Brown, and I teach a course called “The Art of Being,” a Health and Wellness elective at a grades 6-12 school in central Massachusetts.

I am really interested in learning about your curriculum/ideas and in sharing mine.

With Gratitude,

Janet

Hi Janet!

Sounds wonderful! Give me a few days as I wrap up grades for the semester. Would that work for you? I would love to exchange ideas and thoughts! Thanks so much.

Warmly,

Michelle

Hi Michelle,
I think I attended your workshop at the Coalition of Schools Educating Mindfully Conference last February outside of Chicago - yes? Have you been able to connect with other high school educators via the COSEM FaceBook page?

Hi Janet,