Seeking Your Wisdom

Hi wonderful online world of MBSR teachers. I am thinking about teacher training and researching what it looks like to be a teacher. Wondering if someone has the time to share their journey (positives and negatives) as well as what expected compensation is when you start teaching?

I’ve been reading threads on the challenge that recruiting people to teach is. Is working with a hospital highly sought after and therefore extremely competitive? Do schools/ hospitals/organizations have different qualifications? Is Certification (with the very costly additional courses) much more important than being a “Qualified Teacher”, or is it more important to be a good marketer in how you market yourself?

Any help is GREATLY APPRECIATED!

1 Like

Hi Stephen,

I am a Qualified MBSR teacher in Bend, OR. I recently relocated to Bend after having started classes in Utah originally. Getting a class started without an existing network of some kind in my experience, has been somewhat difficult as well. That said, I keep at it. I know it will take patience and perseverance.

The teaching is amazing and I love it because I see, and get feedback, about the positive changes that the participants experience in their lives. So far the negatives have been minimal and have most to do with getting the business going. I find that in my location, education about MBSR is where I spend most of my time. Some people have heard about mindfulness but don’t really know what it is or why it’s important.

As for compensation, take a look at what other teachers in your area are charging. I know for me in a relatively small town on the west coast, it’s much less than it is on the east coast for the 8-week class. And, it was even less in Utah than in Oregon. I also charge a little less than more established teachers in my area since I’m relatively new. I completed teacher training in 2015.