Training for professionals outside healthcare fields

Hello.
I have established my personal practice more than 4 years ago. In terms of formal training: I started with the 8 week course from the mindfulness institute at the Jefferson Hospital in Philadelphia (taken twice at the foundational level), followed by another 8 week graduate course also from Jefferson (link to the institute below). In my understanding their teaching is based on the UMass system/model, although I don’t know about affiliations, etc. http://hospitals.jefferson.edu/departments-and-services/mindfulness-institute/

For the last 2-3 years I have taken weekly instruction from one of their teachers and have done some silent retreats at Omega. I understand that the last two are not considered training, just experience.

I have a Masters and a graduate certificate, but in Electrical Engineering. I would like, in addition to strengthening my practice, to work towards being able to teach MBSR in time. However, many of the courses listed for this purpose apply only to healthcare professionals, and the accreditation requires advanced degree in that field.

I would like to understand if this certification is available to me at all. The website indicates that it might be, based on an evaluation AT THE END (if I understand correctly) but in the meantime I will not be able to take the required courses … I would like to discuss if there are any options and how to proceed.Thank you.

1 Like

Hi Catalina,

Thanks for your query. From your description of your background, it seems
quite suitable for entering the Oasis professional training pathway toward
teacher certification in MBSR. For our advanced degree requirement we
accept degrees from a whole variety of fields, so you wouldn’t have to
defend your certification review on that basis, when the time comes. Your
certification review process would be similar to anyone who has a Masters
degree in any field.