Do we need liability insurance to provide MBSR?

I work for a non-profit who is interested in providing MBSR to the community as well as to businesses. Is it recommended that individuals or organizations who provide MBSR carry liability insurance? I work as a psychotherapist as well and my liability insurer reports that since there is not a state or federal governing body that they do not provide coverage for this service. Any feedback is appreciated.

Kind regards,

Jude Johnson, MA, LMFT

1 Like

Hi Jude… to be clear, are you saying that your liability insurance carrier for your psychotherapy practice will not cover you teaching MBSR? And what state are you in? Thanks

1 Like

I am in North Carolina. Yes, HPSO has told me that they will not cover this service but perhaps it has more to do with the agent that I spoke with.

Thanks,

Jude

This is an interesting question. It’s true, to date, that there is no
"governing body". I’ll mention this topic to my colleagues at CFM and see
what epereince or thoughts they may have with the issue.

2 Likes

Thank you! While I don’t anticipate legal issues providing this service, I want to be sure that I am protected in case such an event should occur.

1 Like

Thanks—over the years I have had this question come up, and have heard different replies, including you must have have liability insurance to its not necessary if no one asks.
You may want to ask the facility where you teach if either their policy covers you or if they even require you to have separate insurance.
I teach in Florida in a variety of facilities, only one said their policy would cover me. I buy my insurance thru Philadelphia Insurance – they do not have a specific product for meditation/MBSR teachers, but they told me that MBSR teachers fall under their yoga teacher policy (link here: https://www.phly.com/productsfw/FWI_YogaIndiv.aspx). Someone in my Practicum from another state was covered by them (don’t remember who at the moment) and suggested this to me.