How to teach mindfulness to panic attacks sufferers?

Hi
I am new here and I am also new at teaching mindfulness.
My first class participants are people that are prone to anxiety and panic attacks.

In mindfulness practice, the body is the main object of attention, at least at the beginning. I always tell my participants to focus on their body when practicing meditation or (obviously) the body scan.

But in the case of people suffering from panic, exploring the body can trigger attacks and therefore, cause the problem instead of reducing it.

I would like to hear from experienced teachers what ways are available to circumvent this problem.

I’m not an experienced teacher, just an MBSR graduate who is a trauma survivor . Focussing on the body and breath can cause panic, anxiety or flashbacks for me. What works are the “listening to sounds” awareness (JK-Z) and also mindful yoga (lying on the floor since panic causes problems with balance) for which there is also a JK-Z series of moves which focus on awareness while performing the exercises, not just yoga exercises themselves. Mindful walking is also beneficial, but not mindful eating or anything that focuses on the mouth, taste or smell.
There has just been a symposium on trauma and contemplative practce and I’ve been told that some of the presentations will be uploaded as videos on the Harvard Divinity School site. There may be helpful materials there.

2 Likes