Welcome from the Moderator

Continuing the discussion from About the OASIS Institute category:

Welcome to the Oasis Institute at cfmHome.

I’m an MBSR Instructor at the CFM, which means I’ve been through Oasis training. I’m here in the role of moderator to answer your questions, especially those that are still with you after you’ve read the FAQs and other information provided on our website.

The Oasis training pathway is a multi-phase process, requiring time, deep commitment and much practice. If you are contemplating whether Oasis training is right for you, or if you have questions or concerns along the way, please be in touch.

I also encourage you to seek the wisdom of the larger Oasis community through conversations with your peers here in cfmHome Oasis. People from all over the world train with us. If you have questions about the experience of being an Oasis student, the community of cfmHome Oasis can be wonderful resource and support.

Lastly, please remember to follow our community guidelines, which apply throughout cfmHome.

Thanks and enjoy this wonderful resource!

7 Likes

I am new to the community so not sure if this the right place to ask questions I would otherwise have asked in an email. Anyway, I have two questions:

I plan to do a 7 day silent meditation retreat with Anam Thubten and Elizabeth Mattis Namgyel at Crestone, CO in October. Will these teachers be acceptable for my first retreat for training to be an MBSR teacher? http://www.dharmaocean.org/event/anam-thubten/

I am confused about the requirements to teach the 8 week MBSR course. Is the course MBSR in Mind-Body Medicine required or optional? If it makes a difference, I am an LCSW.

Thank you for your guidance and responses to my questions.

Sandra

Hi Eowyn,

Thank you for your kind welcome.